Stay Curious
Stay Curious
Never Seen It! Field of Dreams
35
0:00
-33:32

Never Seen It! Field of Dreams

If you're a ghost or a hot farmer, you really ought to give I-o-WAY a try!
35

Hi Friends!

I’m switching things up this week with my first audio post! Not gonna lie-sweaty knee pits and definitely a change of shirt after this one because it’s a bit more of myself out here (be gentle). But I’ve wanted to give this a try for a while and been consistently inspired by Eric Pierce in particular. Eric is the pop culture rock star behind All the Fanfare newsletter and podcast, which I was lucky enough to guest on recently. He often pods solo and makes it seem so, so easy! Reader: it is not. Still, I’m glad I made the leap here. You might not be, but I am.

This week brings another installment of Never Seen It! where I discuss iconic/classic films I’ve never seen. As we slide into the end of summer, I thought I’d fire up the 1989 all the feels sports flick Field of Dreams. I’m not a sports person; those movies generally pass me by anyway so admitting I have never seen this one was not at all a chore. Besides, everyone knows that the top three sports films of all time are:

  1. Rocky

  2. The Cutting Edge

  3. Breakin 2: Electric Boogaloo

I watched the Olympics! I know breakdancing is a SPORT!

Anyway, Field of Dreams finds a boyish Kevin Costner all glowy-skinned and hopeful before Waterworld or Robin Hood would sully his Hollywood favor. It is a movie about fathers and sons; about reclaiming the higher ground of optimism in a cynical world; about having the courage to believe in something bigger than yourself and, of course, about dreams (Psst: it’s IN the title!).

I made this recording without edits because I wanted it to feel as authentic and conversational as if I were blathering to you over a cup of coffee. Thanks for listening and for being here!

X! She

Ray Liotta as Shoeless Joe Jackson in Field of Dreams. Is he going to pitch the ball or punch you in the face and drag you into the corn field where Joe Pesci is waiting with a shovel? WE DON’T KNOW! (Image IMDB)

Discussion about this podcast

Stay Curious
Stay Curious
Humorous commentary from an expert overthinker. There's always more to the story. Stay curious and find out.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sheila Moeschen
Recent Episodes